Stifled yet Indulgent, Indulgent yet Stifled

White people
Privilege
Let’s call it what it is
Savior complex
“That’s why they do what they do”
Nah, y’all do it because it makes you feel better
I would know
Because I did/ do it too
I’m in upper middle class home in west Omaha
Indulging in an amazing dinner
Yet feel stifled by the fact that I’m sitting with people who think that it’s “ok” to just be working at North
And that “we all had the same opportunities” but “he had to prove himself” so he shot the boy

I call bullshit

I’m white
I’ll never understand
But one thing I do understand.
It’s NOT been an even playing field
EVER.

-Shelleyrenae

Leave a Reply

