You’ve Gotten Inside of Me

I had made up my mind,
You were not going to get inside,
Not in my head,
Not in my soul,
Not in my body,
Then I gave you an inch, innocently
And that’s how it always starts,
Kindly, I smiled and played along,
I loved the feeling of being seen and heard,
It was 6:22 and one-hundred forty-nine hours later I’m ensnared,
Your hook caught up in me deeper than I had planned,
Thought I was in control, but I
I was lying to myself,
Did I play along…

Only to get played?

-ShelleyRenae

Leave a Reply

